Skip to content

Where Erika Plays Catch-Up!

February 27, 2012

Phew! These last few weeks have been busy!





Had a couple friends over to play with the joeys! I think it’s a great way to socialize them, plus it gives me a feel for how each individual joey does with strangers. [For the record, they all did wonderfully.] We had tons of fun, and I think the joeys did too!


I got a few emails recently asking me about diet. There are plenty of wonderful diets out there for sugar gliders – that could be a blog post entirely on its own – but, personally, I feed HPW Complete. That is not a decision set in stone, but it is the best choice for my gliders and me right now. Will that change in the future? Possibly. Probably, eventually. Sugar gliders are new, in the grand scheme of things, and what we know about them now is vastly different than what we knew five years ago – and in five more years, we will probably look back and think about how stupid we were back then.

Que sera, sera.

We had Alouette come out of pouch February 18th! If all goes as planned, she’ll be going home to Toulouse! She’s a classic grey, super cute… and missing about 2/3 of her tail and one toe! Scared the bejeezus out of me when I first found her, but it’s already healed up and she seems to not even notice.

Our best guess is that there was an accident on the wheel while she was hanging out but still technically in pouch. Either way, momma’s taken great care of it!



We just ordered two new cages! One came with a few bent panels, but Suncoast was wonderful about everything! The new panels should be out soon, and the second cage will be up. We got the Sturdy Cage, which I highly recommend. It’s very, very nice – and quite large! I feel kinda bad about our old cages now, they seem so small in comparison. Over the next few months I hope to replace all of our cages, so hopefully you’ll be seeing a few more of these bad boys here!

Anyways, hopefully all that made up for the silence! I swear, I need to start setting alarms in my calendar for when I need to do blog posts!




6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim B. permalink
    February 27, 2012 12:58 pm

    Squeee! They are so friggin adorable! Yes, I’ve been checking your blog like 5 times a day to see if there’s a new post. Lol. I’m thinking about march 10 to come visit. That is if I’m not working that day. I should know next Monday what my schedule will be. I can’t wait!! I’ve already got names for them and everything. One queestion, can I buy the raptor wheel when I’m there or is it done online?

    • erikadesigns permalink
      February 28, 2012 2:16 pm

      Let me know! If you want to paypal me the money for the wheel, with the specs you want, I can get one here for you before the girls are ready to go. Just email me about it 🙂

  2. March 1, 2012 10:58 pm

    Gees Erika, I LOVE your camera. Makes my photos look bad… :O)

    • erikadesigns permalink
      March 1, 2012 10:59 pm

      Please, your photos are always gorgeous!

  3. June 25, 2012 3:57 pm

    I love the pictures. The sugar gliders are so adorable. Just browsing through your blog and wanted to leave a comment because I think your pictures are awesome!

Leave a Reply

