Skip to content

The Shame of Being a Confused Breeder

February 4, 2012

Hey guess what? Breeders don’t know everything.
SURPRIIIIIIIISE!

I’ll be the first to admit, sometimes my gliders throw me into a panic. Thank you, glider community. Every time someone makes a funny noise, “GO TO THE VET!” When every single incident is an emergency… it’s hard to take it seriously. Yet, somehow, everytime something is slightly off from the norm, I still panic a little.
But I digress.

I had a joey come out of pouch the other day. A cute little leu out of Yuki and Han-han.
And I don’t know if it’s a boy or a girl.

Eep.

I’ve asked a couple breeders.
One said, “definitely boy.”
One said, “definitely girl.”
One said, ” what on earth is that?!

So… we wait. And wait. And hopefully in a week or so I’ll know what to say.
But it’s frustrating, no knowing. I don’t like it. I don’t like it at all.

Duchess has two joeys that are kind of out of pouch? I’ve seen one out of pouch, but not both yet. I think I’ll just count backwards from when their eyes open.

I do believe they’re both girls. I’ve checked for sex about six different times, and got girl every time… but I haven’t gotten to check both at the same time! So either I keep grabbing the same joey, or they’re both girls. Guess we’ll find out soon enough!

Keeping in tradition, their names will be from the Aristocats. If it’s two girls, they’ll be Abigail and Amelia – if a boy and girl, Madam Adelaide and Georges.
I love name themes, lol.


Leave a Reply

